School’s Out, Forever! (flash fiction)

School’s Out, Forever!

It was Lawrence High School’s Graduation Day. The ceremony was over, and Jess, Cindy, and Melissa stood together still wearing their gowns and caps and holding onto their diplomas. Cindy’s grandma had come to the event, but not her parents.

“Is there a party anywhere tonight?” Jess asked.

“Yeah I think Fuzz is holding one at his place. Or we could go hang out with Tony.” Cindy replied. Jess rolled her eyes.

“You mean hang out at his parent’s mansion?”

“At least there’ll be plenty to drink, and really great food there!” Melissa suggested. “I think Tony plans to party all summer, before we head to college.”

“It would be nice to have that option.” Cindy replied.

“You still heading to college?” Melissa asked.

“Yup.” Cindy replied.

“What? I thought you were staying here.” Jess said with surprise.

“No. What made you think that? You know I want to be a writer.” Cindy answered.

“But that means I’ll be here on my own.” Jess complained.

“Then why don’t you come to college with us?” Cindy asked.

“You know my parents are expecting me to help out on the farm now school’s done. I thought you were going to stay here with me.”

“I’m sorry, but I changed my mind. I won’t be far away. I’m sure I can come back during breaks. Other couples manage to survive long distance.”

“But it won’t be the same.” Jess replied. “Do you really want to go the city where you don’t know anyone?”

“Melissa will be there.” Cindy told her. “And others.”

“Yep totally!” Melissa replied.

“Well I hope you all have fun together!” Jess shot back as she stormed off.

“Jess wait!” Cindy called out to her, but Jess got into her pickup and drove off.

“Don’t worry, she’ll get over it.” Melissa told her as she put her hand on Cindy’s shoulder. Cindy wasn’t so sure…

Joanne Fisher

This is another young Jess and Cindy story, and probably the last, though there will be new stories following this one set some years later….

Please support this blog – Ko-fi! πŸ™‚

©️2021 Joanne Fisher

3 thoughts on “School’s Out, Forever! (flash fiction)

Leave a comment