CCC#52:Straying From the Path (flash fiction)

 

b934

 

Straying From the Path

 

Cindy didn’t want to admit it, but she was lost. She had followed the path as Babradon had suggested, but then she had seen some beautiful flowers and left the path to have a closer look at them. When she went back, the pathway seemed to have disappeared. She walked for ages, but there was no sign of it.

“You’re lost!” said a voice. Cindy beheld a small figure sitting on a branch.

“I am.” She admitted. “I’ve lost the pathway.”

“Well you’re going the wrong way! For a small fee, I’ll take you back to it.” they volunteered.

“I’m not sure I have anything.” Cindy said searching her pockets. All she had was a letter from Melissa, and a quarter. She handed the coin to the figure.

“Ooh I’ve never seen one of these before! Okay follow me!” the figure sped off in a completely different direction. Cindy followed.

 

Joanne Fisher

 

Word count: 150

 

The story follows on from The Gateway and The Importance of Names.

 

This was written with the photo prompt provided by Crimson’s Creative Challenge #52.

 

 

Please donate! 🙂

 

 

©2019 Joanne Fisher

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “CCC#52:Straying From the Path (flash fiction)

  1. Oh, I like that. I wonder where the sprite will lead her. Probably not where she wants to go.
    Reminds what’s happened several times when photographing fungi, following the trail, not paying mind to where I’m going, sights on the woodland floor. And when I look up, Yikes, where am I? Fairy-led and lost, that’s where.
    Yes, your story is highly credible. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t have a problem in familiar woods but I do like to get out to somewhere new. Tomorrow is a Take-the-camera-for-a-walk day, and I’m heading for a woods I’ve entered only twice before. 100% certainty I’m gonna get lost.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment