Austin Street Revisited (poem)

Austin Street Revisited


everything's still here
                                          though
on a smaller scale -

the driveway
                         not so steep
the park
                 not so large
the creek
                  not so wide

once this suburb
was the centre 
of the universe

the land dreamt
and created me
I walked away
                            blinking
into a wider world

but I am still here -

playing in the park
                                     with my siblings
avoiding the creek
                                    where the pirates lurk
escaping the boys
                                   from across the road

running up the driveway
                                                to home


Joanne Fisher

This is another older poem that I’ve reworked. It’s more sentimental than the other ones which is probably why I don’t like it as much. Our house at Austin Street was the first house I remember living in (though it wasn’t actually the first). My brother and I visited the place around twenty years later to find it was exactly the same as we remembered it, though everything seemed smaller. Funny that. In these pictures my house was the white one with the pale green roof.

Please donate! 🙂

Šī¸2021 Joanne Fisher

2 thoughts on “Austin Street Revisited (poem)

Leave a comment