The Rescue (flash fiction)

The Rescue

I stood on the ledge and watched the helicopter come closer. My radio spluttered into life.

“Are you the only survivor?” The voice asked.

“Yes.” I replied.

“What happened to the others?”

“One of them turned and suddenly attacked us. All the others got bitten by him and then turned. I had to kill them all.” I told the voice.

“How long have you been on that ledge?”

“About a day.”

“And all of them who turned were definitely killed? There’s nothing else down there?” The voice checked.

“Yes definitely. It’s only me here now.”

“Okay.” A rope was lowered and I grabbed it and tied it around me. Then I was slowly pulled up. I didn’t tell them that my arm had got bitten. I just wanted to get away from this place. Maybe I would be fine…

Joanne Fisher

Word count: 144

This was written with the photo prompt provided by Crimson’s Creative Challenge #252.

Please support this blog: http://ko-fi.com/jedigirl 🙂

©2023 Joanne Fisher

2 thoughts on “The Rescue (flash fiction)

Leave a comment